Member Profile: Eirian Vining

EirianProfileI am a dual Library and Archives student at the University of British Columbia who is passionate about diversifying and questioning traditional understandings of information science. When I’m not in school, I’m dividing my time between several different volunteer projects. For the past 8 months, another student and I have been working on organizing the print archive at the VIVO Media Arts Centre. I love this archive for their devotion to independent artists and materials dealing with race, gender, and queer sexualities. I am also currently the webmaster for the Vancouver School Board Archives and Heritage Committee website, which we are hoping to launch in the spring of this year. Finally, I have also started working with a group of other students to create an online digital collection for the BC Gay and Lesbian Archive. This collection should be finished by April of this year and will hopefully contribute to the new website being created for the archive.

I am also passionate about activism within information science. For the past year I have been involved with the UBC chapter of the Progressive Librarians Guild and we have worked hard to put on a variety of events that cover a range of topics. This past semester, we co-organized a panel with the UBC ASIS&T chapter on the topic of library accessibility and assistive technologies for patrons with disabilities. We also held a book drive for the local Books2Prisoners group. This semester we’re organizing a roundtable on community-oriented library services.

In my non-library time, I love graphic design, gender theory, and horror films!

Leave a Reply

