Member Profile: Lindsey Krabbenhoft

LindseyHello, everyone! My name is Lindsey and I’m one of the co-conveners of this group.  I am a children’s librarian at the Vancouver Public Library.  My job title gives me enough leeway to wear lime green dinosaur dresses and hot pink bear hats for which I am truly grateful.

I graduated from UBC in 2013 with my MLIS and have been working in public libraries ever since.  I adore storytime and working with families to promote early literacy development.  I’m also keen to develop new ways we can serve as media mentors and expand our digital literacy programming. Before I decided to become a children’s librarian, I taught middle school and high school language arts in a small town in Oregon. That’s where I inherited my love of YA literature, especially books involving time travel, kissing, and kick-ass female protagonists (preferably all three combined!).  I’m continually disappointed in the (small) number of LGBTQ themed books for children.

Outside of my gig at VPL, you can find me blogging and singing on Jbrary, a youth services website and YouTube channel.  I’m also kind of obsessed with love poetry and created a website where you can submit a feeling and I’ll send you a poem.  I spend a lot of my free time hanging out with my 5-year-old niece, Sophie, who reminds me not to take everything so seriously. You can find me on Twitter at @lmkrabbenhoft talking libraries, poetry, politics, and the joys of being an aunt.

Leave a Reply

