Reader’s Advisory Resources

Rainbow List: GLBTQ Books for Children and Teens
The Rainbow Book List is created by the Rainbow Book List Committee of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table of the American Library Association. Originally a joint project between the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Roundtable and the Social Responsibilities Round Table, the Rainbow Book List presents an annual bibliography of quality books with significant and authentic GLBTQ content, which are recommended for people from birth through eighteen years of age.

Lambda Literary Awards
The Lambda Literary Awards (the Lammys) identify and honor the best lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender books in their year of publication and are given out at an annual ceremony by the Lambda Literacy Foundation.

Stonewall Book Awards
The first and most enduring award for GLBT books is the Stonewall Book Awards, sponsored by the American Library Association’s Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table. Since Isabel Miller’s Patience and Sarah received the first award in 1971, many other books have been honored for exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience.

Gaylactic Spectrum Awards
The Gaylactic Spectrum Awards were created in 1998 by the Gaylactic Network to honor works in science fiction, fantasy and horror which include positive explorations of gay, lesbian, bisexual or transgendered characters, themes, or issues.

Publishing Triangle Award
The Publishing Triangle works to create support and a sense of community for lesbian and gay people in the publishing industry,  and began honoring a gay or lesbian writer for his or her body of work a few months after it was founded in 1989.

BCLA Reader’s Advisory Interest Group on Providing LGBTQ Reader’s Advisory.